Who is really on the Throne?

5,137,567 -big number and most likely not conclusive.  This is the number of pics that come up on the web in a search for “God”.  There are gods represented in these pics that I have never heard of, and their works have not reached my ears.  But they are gods.  Some pics are pics of Bibles, crosses, and some are man’s attempt to visualize a god that can’t be visual with our eyes.  Spiritual eyes…maybe..but I am sure that only heaven has seen HIS face due to the fact that “if anyone see my face, it would kill him” so HE tends to show HIS glory more often then we see godly men laying around dead.

In my search for idols, I have realized how very laxed I have become, and how much we take for granted our freedom in Christ.  I used to teach 5-6 grade children, and teaching them how God wants to be on the throne in your heart.  I just wonder, have we at times become so wise that we have forgot to check who is on the throne in our heart.  It seems to vary.  When did we stop fearing HIM? or reverencing HIM?  I think about how we would not be so bold in a face to face with any King in this world, we would be quiet, we would be fearful of our fate as it lays in his hands, and we would most likely be agreeable (at least appearing to be).  Our God is the KING over all Kings, how much more should HE recieve from us.  As HIS children we are told that we can come boldly to HIS throne and ask anything.  I fear today that all too often we take the right as children and go boldly into HIS throne room, and behind our backs we hold the things HE has told us to leave behind, the real rulers of our hearts.  I think we mock our God when we do this, and this morning it scared me.  HE won’t be mocked.  Don’t mistake kindness for weakness!  HE is all powerful, all knowing, an all consuming fire, and we are before HIM night and day, and our fate does lie in HIS hands.  HE is jealous.  That doesn’t sit will with some, and well..its the WORD.  Carl has an excellent post that he re-posted on EL KANA/ Qana-God is Jealous.  Its not about the same jealousy that rips relationships apart, it is a holy jealousy, because HE does love us, and HE is working to spare us the outcome of other gods.

Look at the ten commandments, and think about what happens to a person when just one is not kept.  Surely that is not God, that is mans choice to not obey.  If you do this…you will make a list of all the problems this world is facing.  From Aids to wars, to families without daddys, uncontrolled anger…and the list looks like the evening news.  I can’t blame any of this on my God, HE gave us a guideline, and a choice.  HE is jealous for us to know HIM, to obey HIM, and to have HIS rightful seat on the throne of our heart.

Father GOD, once again today I start out in repentance for the idols that have crowded in your throne room, again I lay them on your altar.  I am in total agreeance with you, you are God and there is no other.  Please continue to guide me through this day, and continue to throw flags that hit like bricks so that I am aware, and can begin this process ot ridding myself of them. I know you will help me. but like so many others that came before me, you require for me to tear them down. I want you on the throne in my heart, nothing behind my back, nothing hidden.  Thank you that you are jealous for me, and only your love for me keeps me from being consumed in your fire.  Giving you back this day, and praying that everything I say and do will honor and glorify you.  Your princess, who really wants to walk into your throne room and not see any false gods lined up around you.  I adore you. 

33 Comments

Filed under Bible Study, Idolatry, jealous, life, Ministry, Only One God, princess entries

33 responses to “Who is really on the Throne?

  1. Thanks for the link love sister…

    Off to get some work done. .

  2. “I adore you.”

    Such simple words … yet so full of meaning.

    Great post, sister.

  3. CK- thanks for the link love you send my way..you have an awesome video on your blog right now..totally awesome..have a great day..and Grace..you are swimming in it! Dive deep!

    Annie- thank you for your kind words..God Is good , huh?

  4. “When did we stop fearing HIM? or reverencing HIM?”

    Nice! Exactly…..lately He is so on me to understand who He really is….I’m so thankful for that…I can’t walk a minute without Him anymore..I don’t want to.

    The Whole of God is what we need to be everything we were created to be…

    Even if I stand alone…I’ll stand. Hope ur doing better…Love you sis!

  5. a picasso business….

  6. you’re beautiful, in all that you do and say.

  7. praise365- thank you, and you know me best of all, next to God of course. amazing you can say that with how sick I have been the last few days.. 🙂

  8. Darla – our pastor mentioned Sunday that only 15% of “Christians” read their bible once a month! I wonder who is on the throne? If we had to go before him daily and answer the question: ‘Are you reading my word?” I think we would do better – The irony is; He knows!

  9. Hey, Darla. I love this! I wonder sometimes if, in our desire to make Him seem assessible to all, we don’t lower Him to our understanding. Not that He hasn’t told us He is our friend through His Son. Or that we are joint heirs with Christ, but still…He is the King of the Universe. We are to walk in this relationship as He has declared…in holiness. Of course we won’t be perfect, that’s not the meaning of holiness (although that’s what I was taught – sinless perfection). We won’t be sinless this side of heaven, but we are to live separated for Him.

    Our pastor made the point on Sunday — I know you’ve heard it many times, but it hit me again:

    We are to be IN the world, not OF the world, as we GO TO the world sharing the good news.

  10. Papa-see you on chat in a little while! 🙂
    Michelle- I have a real heartburn right now about all this..but HE does seem to do this to me when I start a new study..HE keeps my attention..aaaahhhh all that and sweet too!

    CK- you totally made my day! I almost love the “nothing to say” just the hijack cracks me up! I am simple about things..easily entertained! love you bro!

  11. Chat.. What am I missing?

  12. do you have a webcam? if you do I will be on with Praise at 8 on Yahoo..I do have access to skype and aim as well..if you don’t have one..you would still be able to see us and hear, but you would have to type..anytime bro..its fun and just to hear a voice..papa loves chat..its easier than typing..love ya..email me if you want to get on..and I will try to figure out how to connect the three of us!!

  13. Ahhh.. Got ya.. I won’t have time for that tonight. I am working on What is Noble tonight, and need to hit that hard.

    I will have to make plans to Join you some night.. Have fun.

  14. will look forward to when you can…looking forward to your post..have a good night!

  15. oneDirection

    darla, great post. I think what has got me thinking is the fact that we are suppose to fear the Lord. I understand that but at the same time it seems so weird that someone I am suppose to love deeply I am suppose to fear. It’s a weird concept to try and get yourself wrapped around.

  16. Darla, you spoke the absolute truth in this post. I have had countless conversations with people who have a misconception about God being a jealous God. It is completely out of love for us and often we confuse it with man-oriented jealousy. He knows that if we were to serve any other “gods” it would only hurt us because those “gods” are not living nor are they responsive. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and validating what the Lord had spoken to me a while ago. Lots of love to you.

  17. Hi sweety…hope ur feeling better tonight…

    It’s 8, just got home, I’m tired…going to bed…LOVE YOU!

  18. One D- I think for me it is a fear that is more a top shelf respect, that HE is my creator and my king, and then remembering that HE only tells me what to do as its in my best interest, and the love relationship between us motivates the obedience..it is hard to wrap my head around. missed you on IM, maybe tonight?love you!

    GCH-love you! Its a constant effort to make sure HE is on the throne in my heart, girl, I can take it over without my thought, and I just really want HIM to be on it. Still Praying for you!

    Debs- we are getting better, hubs is actually the worst at this time, and I am building strength..miss you, love you!

  19. Heidi

    Love you Princess. I hope you are healing!!!!

    I’m waiting to hear your voice….

  20. soon very soon you will recieve a royal phone call! LOL it is still to be determined if it will be a royal pain, or lots of royal fun..Love you heidi!! my throat is clearing up..and I was just thinking about calling you this morning..thanks for your prayers Prin!

Leave a Reply

