Blogging Bible Study- John 3

This is only one view, and a view of looking into the heart of the persons of John 3. If you prefer a deeper study on this, or just want some thought provoking thoughts..you may want to check out the rest of the group who is doing this study with me.  Honestly, they are all hitting home runs!  My thoughts are my thoughts, but I will give you a look at them…

Nicodemus…lots can be thought and speculated..but it clearly says that he came at night and was one of the religious rulers.  (I am always looking for glimpses of the heart of Jesus/God as I read the Bible) Jesus heart in this is awesome…HE did not say…”Why are you sneaking around without your buddies and now you want to talk to me?”  HE didn’t.  HE continued to explain things to Nicodemus, even to the point of “Nic your not going understand this” mentality.

John (the Baptist) is always a good study..he stands out to me…as the second cousin to our Lord, and born to a women who was too old in our thinking to have children(God seems to like that kind), while still in his mothers womb he jumped for joy at the voice of Mary carrying Jesus.   John’s joy started in the womb when he was close to Jesus in the womb..a very intriguing account.  Now in John 3, John claims his joy is complete…

John 3:29  (NIV) The bride belongs to the bridegroom. The friend who attends the bridegroom waits and listens for him, and is full of joy when he hears the bridegrooms voice. That joy is mine, and is now complete.

Revelation 19:7,8 (NIV) Let us rejoice and be glad and give Him glory!  For the wedding of the Lamb has come, and His bride has made herself ready.  Fine linen, bright and clean, was given to her to wear. (Fine linen stands for the righteous acts of the saints.) {Hebrews 11-By faith we are credited righteousness-belief}

I was stuck here in John as it appears to me that John is prophesying of the prophesy to come of the Bride and Bridegroom mentioned in Revelation.  We, the body of Christ, are the bride, are we getting ready? Are we full of joy at the sound of HIS voice?  Do we even hear HIS voice?  Or Like a Derek Webb song I heard..are we dirty and lovers of lots of things, and plan on throwing on the dress and running down the aisle?  It won’t be acceptable.  As John said in verse 30 “He must become greater and I must become less.”  That still holds true today…we must decrease  and HE must increase, we should also be full of joy and anticipating when our joy becomes complete…

** John 3:16 for those who would like to stay in that verse to debate or discuss…my stand is this..For God so loved the world ( not a big hug around the world, not a gigantic group hug),love for all that have been or are presently , or will be standing on this earth til the end of time…all loved, although HE knows who will and who will not choose HIM.  HE sent HIS son to die to bridge the gap and to give us an alternative to feeling the wrath of God.  The bottom line in all this is to believe, we can not debate with God..HE made a way, and gave us a choice out of HIS love for us…

If you are not a believer in Christ and are wondering what this is all about…then I am asking you to read the book of John, and instead of pulling it apart..look for HIS heart, HIS responses, I promise you if you do, you will love Him too.

(have a good day , have to work but will be back to check on you all after 4 pm eastern time)

11 Comments

Filed under Bible Study, Jesus, life, Love, Ministry, reflections

11 responses to “Blogging Bible Study- John 3

  1. Good morning Darla…

    Eph 5 25b-27 just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, 27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.

    Also go read Song of Songs/Solomon again, and read it as Christ pursuing his bride.

    Have a wonderful day at work.

  2. well off to work..
    CK I love SOS and I love the pursuit of Christ for his bride…brides to get ready and they prepare themselves for the bridegroom…they don’t go out to the bars and sell theirself to others and then get back and just jump in the dress and run down the aisle..The groom wouldn’t be happy, and we wouldn’t blame him for calling it off..just my thoughts…there is also a parable about the virgins being ready..and the ones who weren’t were left and locked out.. I don’t fully understand it all, I just know this bride is getting ready, and praying for constant purification, and wanting to choose the way of the Lord. Have a good day..you are very faithful to check on us, and I am glad for that.

  3. Love the book of John! Chapters 11 & 12 are two of my favorites! This book is loaded with great spiritual insight! sorry, getting ahead of the game. i am unofficially doing this bible study as well.

  4. Hey Papa…. Let me ruin the ending for you… Jesus wins, and we win if we believe…. 😉

    Have a wonderful day.

  5. Laurie Lloyd

    Hi Darla,

    Just a small comment from me here thanking you for stating we cannot debate with God especially when it comes to John 3:16, the Gospel in all of its simplicity and perfection. The walk I have with Jesus always begins with the gospel as my first step. I don’t want to wander from it nor debate it. I just love that it saved my dark life and that nothing was hidden from His sight. For me to debate it is to say that what Jesus went through on the cross was not good enough to cover every single person, past, present and future if they only accept and believe as a child. The Gospel is simple and beautiful and true if man does not get in the way and pick it apart. I try my best not to step on Gods toes.:) Especially when it is the foundation for our eternity. And Oops, my small comment is growing so I will say I love you and continue to follow along, even if I don’t always comment. Just know I am reading and learning and take any question I may have to the Lord. And that’s just me:)

    Love you girl, Laurie in Ca.
    PS. I just knew you would fall in love with the West Coast. Our God is quite the ARTIST and He loves our delight in His work.

  6. I love your thoughts…probably because you speak my heart as well! 😉

    I want to be ready. I know He will complete the work He has begun and yet, we are exhorted to keep our clothes clean and ready for that day. Walking worthy of the gospel and going to Him for “feet washing” when necessary.

    Love you, Darla!! Hope all’s well.

  7. Darla,
    First of all, I love what you said about John…bringing out the mystical nature of Salvation is so necessary to being a believer. The divine nature of John the Baptist’s birth and his joyful response in the womb have always touched me.

    As matter of fact as you are in the last two italicized paragraphs, you are right…some things are trued whether we believe them or not.

    Love your posts!
    Nate

  8. Laurie- girl I have been missing your comments, and thought about you last night, and wondered if you tired of me 🙂 by the way I have been getting search engines looking for the laurie lloyd blog. 😆 they get sent here. do you love that?

    Papa- love that you are unofficially studying with us.

    Michelle- love you girl! and yes we do have the same heart in this..I just want to be ready so that when HE comes I will jump with joy! 😉

    CK- we do know how it all ends..and all I can say is … wooooohooooooooo!

    Nate – thanks, I love your posts too, it is good to study and to read the word, and I love having others to read and tell me what they are getting from it..

  9. Hi Princess….Thank you so much for the background…I love to get get down and personal with the people of God’s Word. Alot of times things may seem or read as a “story”, you know what I mean…these were real people with real lives that got to walk and talk with Jesus…best History Book around!

    Love you princess, I’m Frantz sick…. 😦 Love you and we’re only a plane ride away…either way!!! LOL

  10. just tell me when and what airport I should pick yall up at…i drive for everyone else..and picking you and jer up would be a treat! love you!

  11. Hey…there’s a Darla sandwich on your comments!!!! I like.. 😉

Leave a comment